In Washington state, there are many different types of assault crimes. The types of assault someone might be charged with are based on degree and circumstances.
Assault in the First Degree in Washington State
Someone can be charged with assault in the first degree if their conduct meets the following conditions.
- Using a gun or another deadly weapon or by the use of force, inflicting injury likely to result in great bodily harm or death; or
- Administering, exposing, transmitting, or causing another to take poison or any other noxious or destructive substance; or
- Assaulting someone and inflicting great bodily harm.
This is a Class A felony. It can result in a term of life in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.
Assault in the Second Degree in Washington State
There are many different types of conduct that constitute assault in the second degree, including the following.
- Intentionally assaulting another and recklessly inflicting substantial bodily harm.
- Intentionally and unlawfully causing substantial bodily harm to an unborn child by inflicting harm upon the mother.
- Assaulting with a deadly weapon.
- Inflicting bodily harm by administering poison or any other noxious or destructive substance.
- Assaulting another with the intention to commit another felony.
- Inflicting bodily harm knowingly designed to cause pain or agony equivalent to torture.
- Assaulting another by strangulation or suffocation.
Any of the above is a Class B felony. This is punishable by up to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $20,000.
Assault in the Third Degree in Washington State
There are also many different types of conduct that constitute assault in the third degree. These include assaults that do not rise to the level of first- or second-degree assault. Third-degree assault is also frequently occupation-specific.
Third-degree assault charges can be made if a person assaults any of the following people:
- Court officers;
- Transit operators or drivers, their supervisors, mechanics, and security officers;
- School bus drivers, their supervisors, mechanics, or security officers;
- Firefighters or other employees of the fire department;
- Law enforcement officers;
- Peace officers; or
- Nurses, physicians, or health care providers.
A person also commits third-degree assault if, with criminal negligence, he or she causes bodily harm to another by means of a weapon or another object likely to produce bodily harm or cause substantial pain and considerable suffering.
Assault in the third degree is a Class C felony. This is punishable by up to five years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
Assault in the Fourth Degree in Washington State
Assault in the fourth degree is an assault that does not rise to the level of a first-, second-, or third-degree assault. In most instances, fourth-degree assault is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to 346 days in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. However, in some circumstances, if a person has a prior assault conviction, a fourth-degree assault is a Class C felony.
Have You Been Charged with Assault in the State of Washington?
Assault is a very serious crime, and even a gross misdemeanor conviction can have lasting consequences. Vinny Randhawa represents people charged with crimes in Snohomish County, Pierce County, and King County. Call Vinny Randhawa at (425) 228-2202 to discuss your case today.